Everyone thinks that a DUI won’t happen to them. You’ve had a few drinks and you think you’re fine to drive or you don’t realize that you’re drunk at all when you get behind the wheel. There’s also those who think that they are better at driving while they are drunk. DUIs can happen to anyone regardless if you think you’re fine or not to drive while drunk. If you’re looking for a DUI lawyer, then you’ve come to the right place. If you have been charged with a DUI, then we have some good news for you: We can help. At Ores Law, we’ll create a strategy that will help you get the desired outcome for your situation.
In today’s blog, we’ll be going over what you need to know if you have been charged with a DUI and the penalties that you could face in the State of Colorado. No one wants to deal with a DUI or a DWAI, but when you have a strong representation on your side, then you’ll be prepared for your situation. Whether you’ve just been charged or you’re dealing with the charges right now, take the time to reach out to Ores Law for more information on how we can help you.
Colorado Drinking Laws
In the State of Colorado, there are two types of levels of alcohol-related driving offenses. There’s the DUI and the DWAI. The difference between these two is the blood alcohol concentration in your body. A DUI is a BAC that’s over .08 percent and a DWAI is when your BAC is between .05 and .08 percent. This applies to those who are over 21 years of age, which is the legal drinking age. Regardless if you get charged with a DUI or a DWAI, you can look at a variety of different penalties from jail time to a license suspension. If you’re interested in learning more about DUIs and DWAIs, then read The Difference Between A DUI And A DWAI.
Penalties For Drinking And Driving
The penalties that you can face when you drink and drive can differ depending on your situation. The best way to figure out what you may be facing is to talk to a lawyer who has experience in DUIs. As a Colorado resident, you could be looking at a three month suspension and 12 points to your driver’s license or a completion of alcohol/substance abuse treatment programs for your first offense. You could even have jail time, fines, community service, or an ignition interlock device. The best way to figure out what you could be facing for your situation is to reach out to a law firm and speak to a lawyer.
Know Your Rights
When you are faced with a DUI, remember that you have rights. If you don’t want to answer any questions to incriminate yourself, then you have that right. If you don’t want to take a breathalyzer, then you don’t have to. The most important thing you can remember when you are facing DUI charges is that you have rights. While refusing to take a chemical test can come with consequences, it’s beneficial that you remember that you have a choice between a blood, breath, and to refuse a chemical test altogether when you are pulled over.
Our criminal law office in Loveland, CO, serves those who are dealing with DUIs and DWAIs. We also focus on other law areas such as family, estate planning, and civil disputes. For more information on hiring an aggressive representation that’s based on integrity, contact us today.