Driving under the influence is against Colorado law. We understand that everyone makes mistakes, which is why Ores Law offers DUI legal experts to assist you through the process. The severity of the incident determines whether the case is a felony or misdemeanor, but no matter the final classification, all incidents are serious and can come with long term consequences. Ores Law’s criminal lawyers in Loveland may not see as many DUI cases as a larger city like Denver, but our professionals are experts in the law nonetheless.
Drinking (or using drugs) and driving can be charged in a variety of ways:
DUI or DWI – Driving Under the Influence or Driving While Intoxicated (BAC above 0.08%)
DWAI – Driving While Ability Impaired (BAC between 0.05% and 0.08%)
DUID – Driving Under the Influence of Drugs
The consequences are severe and are more likely to be more severe without the help of a legal expert. Criminal attorneys are continually updated with legal changes and processes which means we’re equipped with the tools needed to successfully navigate a DUI charge. We want you to be through this process as quickly as possible with as few charges and consequences as possible.
Those convicted of a DUI or DUID the first time are subject to serve up to one year in jail, pay up to $1,000 in fines, and have a suspended driver’s license for nine months. Those convicted of a DWAI can face up to 180 days in jail and pay up to $500 in fines.
Since Colorado is a “No Lookback Period” state, the DUI or DWAI always affects the offense tally. If you received a DUI or DWAI 30 years ago and received another one yesterday, you will be charged with a second offense. With that being said, the penalties of a second offense DUI and DWAI are up to one year of jail, up to $1,500 in fines, and a suspended license for one year. Following the suspended license, an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) must be installed. In many cases, first and second DUI/DWAI offenses are charged as misdemeanors unless another person suffers body or property damage. Further damage is more likely to lead to a felony charge.
The third offense for a DUI or DWAI in Colorado is almost always charged as a felony. Those convicted of a DUI for the third time may incur more than one year in jail, $1,500 in fines, and a suspended license for two years. Three time DWAI offenders may face more than one year in jail, fines up to $1,000, and two years of license suspension. The IID is required for third offenders of DUI or DWAI.
Again, Ores Law’s DUI criminal lawyers in Loveland are here to help alleviate charges and navigate you through the legal world. Please contact us now for a free consultation.